Congratulations Cynthia Erivo!

This morning, the ABFF Ventures announced that actress, Cynthia Erivo will be honored at the 2020 ABFF Honors with the Rising Star Award.

This year will mark the fourth year the ceremony has taken place. It will be hosted by comedian and actor, Deon Cole.

The Rising Star Award is given out each year to the recent success of an individual with a promising mark in the world of film and television. Previous recipients of this award include Ryan Coogler, Issa Rae, and Tiffany Haddish.

Cynthia Erivo is a Grammy, Emmy, and Tony award-winning actress. She has taken place in Broadway productions including The Color Purple.

In theaters now, Erivo can be found portraying Harriet Tubman in the film titled, Harriet. She also stars in HBO series, The Outside, which will premiere on January 12th, 2020. In addition to that, she will star alongisde David Oyelowo and Daisy Ridley in the sci-fi thriller, Chaos Walking.

For the full list of award categories for the 2020 ABFF Honors, click 3!

Congratulations again Cynthia Erivo!