History-making women that inspired the 2016 hit film, Hidden Figures are set to receive a Congressional Gold Medal for their outstanding contributions to NASA!

A group of lawmakers announced that they will honor Katherine Johnson, Dorothy Vaughan, Mary Jackson, and Christine Darden. The group of engineers and mathematicians became the first African American leaders at NASA and played a large role in the success of many major space missions.

The stories of these women inspired the book, Hidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly and was later adapted into the popular film that inspired Taraji P. Henson, Octavia Spencer, and Janelle Monae.

In a press release, Sen. Chris Coons said,

“This bill will help recognize these extraordinary women and bring their accomplishments into the light so they can serve as an inspiration to younger generations of women in science, particularly those of color.”

In 2015, President Barack Obama also awarded Katherine Johnson the Presidental Medal of Freedom.

The Congressional Gold Medal is one of our country’s highest honors. It celebrates individuals and groups that have contributed to American history and culture.

Congratulations to this impeccable group of women for their contributions!

Featured Image: Shutterstock