This just in!

The honorees for the African American Film Critics Association Awards have been announced. Mariah Carey, George C. Wolfe, and Stacey Abrams are among this year’s honorees.

The 12th annual show will honor the three and in addition, filmmakers, Lisa Cortés and Liz Garbus will receive awards as well.

Netflix also joins the group as the streaming platform will be honored with the Cinema Vanguard Award for providing their subscribers with diverse offerings during the time of the ongoing pandemic.

In a statement to Variety, AAFCA CEO and President, Gil Robertson said, “When you think about all four of these projects and individuals, they’re being very intentional in wanting to utilize their talents for good, for information and with the intention to uplift and empower.”

When speaking on Mariah Carey, Robertson said, “Given a career of her magnitude, we really could have done it anytime. At this point, she’s more than earned the right to be recognized at some point. When members spoke about the impact of her videos and how much they meant to them, we thought ‘Let’s recognize her because she’s always projected a lot of positive energy, which we definitely need now during the pandemic and coming out of the last four years.’”

George C. Wolfe – the director of Netflix’s Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom is an award-winning playwright that will be honored for his work telling the stories of Black history in our nation.

Abrams on the otherhand is being recognized for her documentary, All In: The Fight for Democracy – which tells the story of voter suppression in the U.S.

The AAFCA will take place virtually on April 7th. The full list of nominations will be announced on March 8th.

Congratulations Mariah Carey, George C. Wolfe, and Stacey Abrams!