ABFF Honors stem from the American Black Film Festival. It is a unique awards event as acclaimed artists are honored alongside rising stars, creating a spirit of mutual appreciation amongst multigenerational talent in Hollywood. 

The first ABFF Honors was held in 2016, honoring black artists who have made significant contributions to American entertainment through their work as well as those who champion diversity and inclusion in Hollywood.

Outside of honoring black artists every year they also honor a black film from the past and this year that film was “Eve’s Bayou”. Castmates Meagan Good, Lynn Whitfield, Rodger Guenveur, Victoria Rowell and the creator were in attendance to give a heartfelt speech about the importance of this film in their careers. Good became emotional as she gave her speech on how this film changed her whole career at the age of 13 in 1997.

This year’s honorees included Kerry Washington, Courtney B. Vance, Charles D. King, and Janelle Monáe.

Now in its fifth year, the ABFF Honors’ list of celebrated award recipients includes, Denzel Washington, Ava DuVernay, Regina King, Tiffany Haddish, Ryan Coogler, Don Cheadle, Will Packer, Queen Latifah, Lena Waithe, Terrence Howard, F. Gary Gray, Billy Dee Williams, Issa Rae, Omari Hardwick, Louis Gossett, Jr., the late Diahann Carroll and the cast of classic films and television shows including Martin, The Wire, Hollywood Shuffle and Love Jones.