As Hollis Morgan, a former convict turned “amateur sleuth”, Toni Braxton returns to Lifetime in April to executive produce and star in the Fallen Angels Murder Club a new anthology movie series. After the premiere of the first film on April 2nd, Fallen Angels Murder Club: Friends to Die For, the second, Fallen Angels Murder Club: Heroes and Felons, will be released on April 9th. R. Franklin James wrote the Fallen Angels Book Club, which served as the inspiration for the films.

Ahead of the debut Lifetime TV has provided us with a synopsis of the upcoming series.

Fallen Angels Murder Club: Friends to Die For

Premieres Saturday, April 2 at 8/7 C
In the first installment, the members of the Fallen Angels Murder Club must have two things in common – a love for books and have a criminal record. Hollis Morgan (Braxton) meets both requirements. Left holding the bag in an insurance fraud scheme concocted by her ex-husband, Hollis served her time and now hopes the court will pardon her conviction so she can fulfill her dream of becoming a lawyer. But when a member of her book club is murdered in a scene straight out of the previous night’s novel, Hollis becomes the subject of police scrutiny. Refusing to get stuck with another bad rap, Hollis sets out to investigate her fellow club members and after a second book- inspired murder, she races to identify the killer before she becomes the next victim. Also stars Eddie Cibrian (Northern Lights, CSI Miami).


Fallen Angels Murder Club: Heroes and Felons

Premieres Saturday, April 9 at 8/7 C
In the second movie, the Fallen Angels Murder Club must band together again as they search for answers surrounding the death of one of their own. Hollis finds herself at the center of the investigation when a journalist reporting on the murder also winds up dead. As bodies begin to stack up, and Hollis connects the dots, she must solve the murders before it’s too late. Kelly Hu also stars. (List of a Lifetime, Scorpion King).

Images courtesy of Lifetime | AE