As a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, many countries and regions have imposed quarantines, entry bans, or other restrictions for citizens of or recent travellers to the most affected areas. Other countries and regions have imposed global restrictions that apply to all foreign countries and territories, or prevent their own citizens from travelling overseas.

The European Union rejected the idea of suspending the Schengen free travel zone and introducing border controls with Italy, a decision which has been criticised by some European politicians. After some EU member states announced complete closure of their national borders to foreign nationals, the European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen said that “Certain controls may be justified, but general travel bans are not seen as being the most effective by the World Health Organization.” A few days later the EU closed its external borders.

All non-Hong Kong residents who have been in overseas countries/territories (i.e. excluding mainland China, Macau and Taiwan) in the past 14 days are barred from entering Hong Kong, with exceptions provided for certain groups of non-Hong Kong residents such as spouses and minor children of Hong Kong residents as well as Macao residents who are registered under the Macao scheme under agreement between the Macau and the Hong Kong Government, and passengers are no longer allowed to transit through Hong Kong International Airport until further notice starting from 25 March 2020.

Non-Hong Kong residents arriving from mainland China, Macau and Taiwan who have not been in any overseas countries/territories in the past 14 days are exempted from the ban, but they are still subject to compulsory quarantine for 14 days same as all other arrivals to Hong Kong.  Since Chinese tourists are only allowed to stay in Hong Kong with a valid visa for maximum 7 days, they are also banned from entering the territory.

Effective 17 March 2020, Kenya halted the entry of foreigners from countries that have confirmed coronavirus cases. Only Kenyan citizens, and any foreigners with valid residence permits will be allowed to come in provided they proceed on self-quarantine or to a government designated quarantine facility.The restrictions have been extended to 6 June 2020, with President Uhuru Kenyatta extending the travel ban on 16 May 2020 for a further 3 weeks. Effective 0001hrs on Sunday 17 May, there will be cessation of movement of persons and vehicle transporting passengers into and out of the Republic of Kenya through the Kenya-Tanzania and Kenya-Somalia international borders. Movement of cargo is exempt.

Drivers of cargo vehicles will be subjected to mandatory testing for Covid-19; and will only be granted entry into Kenya if they test negative for the virus. The nationwide dusk to dawn curfew (1900hrs-0500hrs) has been extended for a further period of 21 days until 6 June 2020. Cessation of movement into and out of the Nairobi Metropolitan Area (NaMA), the counties of Mombasa, Kwale, Kilifi and Mandera has been extended until 6 June 2020.

Borders are closed to all travellers who are not citizens, permanent residents or U.S. citizens. Exceptions are placed for diplomats, crew and immediate family members of citizens with clearing a basic health assessment by air operators. The U.S. and Canada later agreed to close the Canada–United States border to non-essential traffic.  On 11 March, the President of El Salvador announced an Executive Order barring the entry of foreigners. The General Directorate of Migration will deny entry to all foreigners, excluding accredited diplomats and legal residents of El Salvador.

European Union/Schengen Area: The European Council agreed on 17 March to ban incoming travel other than citizens from countries in the European UnionEuropean Economic Area, Switzerland and United Kingdom, long-term residents and people with long-term visa or residence permits, family members of EU and EEA citizens, medical personnel and people responsible for transport of goods for 30 days. Each country has to implement the decision on the national level. Ireland choose to opt out from the decision due to the Common Travel Area. The agreement was to close borders for 30 days starting at noon on 17 March, though enforcement did not begin immediately as planned.